OVERJOYED

Today I have been listening to the song Overjoyed, written by, Stevie Wonder. I hesitate to use the word song because well, hmmmm…. because this piece of art is so much more than a “song”. I say; Overjoyed is a masterful piece of inspiration given to us through a man blessed from before time began.

I wish I had a more copious musical knowledge; background, as well as training, discipline (I’m working on this) and recall.  In fact,  part of working on that is listening to this song and focusing on well, the melody first, then the bass (bass is the heartbeat of music) and rhythms,  each individual part and where it fits in the whole sound that makes up the song.

Melody:  okay so, listening to the melody I can’t help but notice the words. They are a love song from GOD (pick your isms as you wish – isms have nothing to do with what I am speaking of), Crying out to you to come up higher and see what the world looks from the Most-High vantage point you can see from!  26290cbc7abc9b7d010fff941776fe0a

Lyrics:
“Overjoyed”

Over time, I’ve been building my castle of love
Just for two, though you never knew you were my reason
I’ve gone much too far for you now to say
That I’ve got to throw my castle away

Over dreams, I have picked out a perfect come true
Though you never knew it was of you I’ve been dreaming

The sandman has come from too far away
For you to say come back some other day

And though you don’t believe that they do
They do come true
For did my dreams
Come true when I looked at you
And maybe too, if you would believe
You too might be
Overjoyed, over loved, over me

Over hearts, I have painfully turned every stone
Just to find, I had found what I’ve searched to discover
I’ve come much too far for me now to find
The love that I’ve sought can never be mine

And though you don’t believe that they do
They do come true
For did my dreams
Come true when I looked at you
And maybe too, if you would believe
You too might be
Overjoyed, over loved, over me

And though the odds say improbable
What do they know
For in romance
All true love needs is a chance
And maybe with a chance you will find
You too like I
Overjoyed, over loved, over you, over you
______________________________
THAT my loved ones is what my GOD is singing out to you. You mean that much and there will come a time when you realize that.
I ask, Can you imagine that?
I knew that you could!

______________________________
Melody . . .
Okay, I’m still working on this song so I’m just learning to hum or sing the melody first finding the right notes in a good timing, no embellishments. Although I am still taking baby steps as a musician, my ears are improving all the time. Every day they get a better, and every day my life gets better, line upon line, precept upon precept. Amazing.

BASS . . .
wub, wahwub, wahwyb, wob, woo______ooob each note is a little puff of warm air on my skin and when you slide it makes me giggle for it tickles in just the perfect place for that moment in time. Today, right now, I am aware and that bass is my atonement with  music. I am that bass Mmmm play me,  play me …. yes please.

Again, the bass is my heartbeat,  a steady, reliable, grounding, life supporting beat. It is the rock foundation to build your song on. It never fails, it’s always beating though there are times it’s so subtle you almost don’t feel it on, and on, and on it goes. It moves your being from somewhere deep inside with a soothing and vibration. Mmmm I listen to this bassline and I am a baby in a cradle, I am in the bosom of my lover looking directly into his eyes.

Other observations of the rhythm, I’m still attempting to pick out which instruments are playing. So far I’ve got birds, water dripping, I think congas, mmmmm more on that later. In fact more on this whole song later, I’m pooped and must return to more  learning, singing and then picking out the melody on my guitar.

Watch me grow!  Life is getting brighter, lighter and more interesting every day.

BIG LOVE,
lil’ gini

PS – I have no idea what I’m talking about and yet I think I’ll write love letters to the Bass lines in the songs I am studying. I think that would be a good mixer. If they catch on good, if they don’t good, it’s all good.

PSS – I am in want of a good proof reader.

 

Published by

lil' gini

Hi it's Me, I am 50 ish and I'm just beginning my journey with journaling. This blog will essentially a starting point to journal my journey here on this side of eternity. When I figure out how to configure this thingy called a blog, which really, I have a very vague definition of circling in my brain. My journaling for my autobiography from this new beginning forward will have begun :) Till then, please stick around. Any and all feedback along with helpful tips, tricks and advice are welcome. Hey! It's a start!!! Yeah? Never, never, never give up!